2017-2018 CTSI Annual Report


Connections & Collaborations across the University

Centre for Teaching Support & Innovation Annual Report

This Annual Report is also available in PDF format

Table of Contents

Message from the Directors
Foundational & Continuing Intersections
Teaching Assistants’ Training Program
Academic & Collaborative Technologies
Programming and Communications
Course Evaluations
Scholarship of Teaching & Learning
Celebrating Teaching

APPENDIX A: Teaching Assistants’ Training Program (PDF)
APPENDIX B: Academic & Collaborative Technologies (PDF)
APPENDIX C: Programming & Support (PDF)
APPENDIX D: CTSI Communications (PDF)
APPENDIX E: Course Evaluations (PDF)
APPENDIX F: Publications, Presentations and Award Funding (PDF)


ACT: Academic & Collaborative Technologies
CTSI: Centre for Teaching Support & Innovation
OLS: Online Learning Services
ITS: Information Technology Services
SoTL: Scholarship of Teaching & Learning
STG: St. George campus
TATP: Teaching Assistants’ Training Program
VPIUE: Vice Provost, Innovations in Undergraduate Education
UTL: University of Toronto Libraries
UTM: University of Toronto Mississauga
UTSC: University of Toronto Scarborough



Aarthi Ashok, Associate Professor, Teaching Stream, Department of Biological Sciences, University of Toronto Scarborough
Megan Burnett, Associate Director, CTSI
Alana Boland, Associate Dean Teaching and Learning, Faculty of Arts & Science
Andy Dicks, Associate Professor, Teaching Stream, Department of Chemistry, Faculty of Arts & Science
Amy Dionne, Executive Manager, Academic Development & Operations, Centre for Faculty Development
Indigo Esmonde, Associate Professor, Curriculum, Teaching and Learning, Ontario Institute for Studies in Education (OISE)
Greg Evans, Professor, Chemical Engineering & Applied Chemistry, Faculty of Applied Science & Engineering
Abdullah Farooqi, PhD Candidate, Department of History and the Anne Tanenbaum Centre for Jewish Studies, Faculty of Arts & Science
Emily Greenleaf, Program & Faculty Development Consultant, Office of the Vice-Provost, Faculty & Academic Life
Julie Hannaford, Deputy Chief Librarian, U of T Libraries
Will Heikoop, Online Learning Coordinator, CTSI
Diane Horton, Acting Director, (Jan.-June, 2018), CTSI
Susan McCahan, Vice-Provost, Innovations in Undergraduate Education
June Larkin, Associate Professor, Teaching Stream, Equity Studies and Women & Gender Studies Institute, Faculty of Arts & Science
Mary Pugh, Professor, Department of Mathematics, Acting Vice-Dean, Undergraduate & International, Faculty of Arts & Science
Carol Rolheiser, Director (on leave, Jan. – June, 2018), CTSI
Tyler Tokaryk, Associate Professor, Teaching Stream, Director, Robert Gillespie Academic Skills Centre, University of Toronto Mississauga