Teaching Awards

The CTSI staff is happy to review nomination files or assist with the compilation of teaching award dossiers for internal and external teaching awards. If you would like to meet with a CTSI staff member regarding an awards nomination, please contact ctsi.teaching@utoronto.ca or 416-946-3139. There are a number of awards that recognize excellence in teaching at the University of Toronto. Most of these awards are division-specific.



2017 President’s Teaching Award

  • Michelle French, Associate Professor, Teaching Stream, Department of Physiology (Provost memo)
  • Njoke Wane, Professor, Department of Social Justice Education (Provost memo)

Learn more about this award on the Office of the Vice-President and Provost’s website http://www.provost.utoronto.ca/Awards/presidentaward.htm

2017 Northrop Frye Award

  • Craig Simmons, Department of Mechanical and Industrial Engineering

Read a U of T News interview with Prof. Simmons.

2017 Faculty Award for Teaching and Research

  • Jay Pratt, Department of Psychology

Read a U of T News interview with Prof. Pratt.

2017 University of Toronto Early Career Teaching Awards

  • Sanja Hinic-Frlog, Assistant Professor, Teaching Stream, Department of Biology, University of Toronto Mississauga
  • Dawn Kilkenny, Assistant Professor, Teaching Stream, Institute of Biomaterials & Biomedical Engineering
  • David Roberts, Assistant Professor, Teaching Stream, Innis College Urban Studies Program, Faculty of Arts & Science
  • Ashley Stirling, Assistant Professor, Teaching Stream, Faculty of Kinesiology & Physical Education

Learn more about this award on the Provost website.

2017 3M National Teaching Fellow Recipient

  • Greg Evans, Department of Chemical Engineering and Applied Chemistry

Learn more about this award at the 3M Fellowship site and read a story on UofT News.

2016-2017 University of Toronto Teaching Fellowship

  • Teresa Kramarz, Assistant Professor, Teaching Stream, Munk School of Global Affairs, Faculty of Arts & Science

Learn more about this award on the Provost website.

2016 Ontario Confederation of University Faculty Associations Teaching Award

  • Diane Horton, Department of Computer Science, Faculty of Arts & Science

2016 Faculty of Arts & Science Outstanding Teaching Award

  • Steve Engels, Computer Science
  • Kyoungrok Ko, East Asian Studies
  • Melanie Newton, History

2016 Faculty of Arts & Science Superior Teaching Award

  • Antonela Arhin, Sessional Lecturer, Diaspora & Transnational Studies
  • Nicholas Morra, Sessional Lecturer, Chemistry
  • Yanfei Li, Graduate Student Course Instructor, East Asian Studies
  • David Seitz, Graduate Student Course Instructor, Georgraphy & Planning

Learn more about these awards and recipients on the Faculty of Arts & Science website.

2016 Ontario Institute for Studies in Education Teaching Excellence Awards

  • Distinguished Contributions to Teaching: Monique Herbert, Sessional Lecturer, Applied Psychology and Human Development
  • David E. Hunt Award for Excellence in Graduate Education: Njoki Wane, Professor, Social Justice Education
  • Excellence in Initial Teacher Education: Angela MacDonald-Vemic, Assistant Professor, Teaching Stream, Curriculum, Teaching and Learning
  • Excellence in Continuing & Professional Learning: Larry Swartz, AQ Facilitator, Continuing and Professional Learning

2016 3M Teaching Fellowship

  • Andy Dicks, Department of Chemistry
  • Martin Schreiber, Faculty of Medicine

Learn more about this prestigious national teaching award at STLHE.ca and on Maclean’s Magazine website.