Contact

Centre for Teaching Support & Innovation

Building teaching excellence through leadership, collaboration and innovation.

130 St. George Street, Robarts Library, 4th Floor
Toronto ON M5S 3H1
416-946-3139
ctsi.teaching@utoronto.ca

Centre for Teaching Support & Innovation

Director, CTSI

Alison Gibbs
Professor, Teaching Stream, Statistical Sciences, FAS
416-946-8534
alison.gibbs@utoronto.ca

Deputy Directors

Keith Adamson, Assistant Professor, Teaching Stream, Factor-Inwentash Faculty of Social Work

Andrea Williams, Associate Professor, Teaching Stream, and Director of the Writing & Rhetoric and Innis One, Innis College

Learn more about the Deputy Directors

Associate Director, CTSI

Megan Burnett
416-946-8585
megan.burnett@utoronto.ca

Institutional Strategist for Academic Technology and Director, Academic & Collaborative Technologies

Avi Hyman
a.hyman@utoronto.ca

Manager, Teaching, Learning & Technology

Tamara Bahr
416-978-1015
t.bahr@utoronto.ca

Evaluation and Assessment: Course Evaluations

All general course evaluation questions should be sent to course.evaluations@utoronto.ca.

Project Manager, Course Evaluations

Tara Wells

Data Analyst, Course Evaluations and SoTL

Clarissa Lau

Course Evaluation Information Analyst

Paul Steacy

Evaluation System Specialist

Anh Huynh

Evaluation and Assessment: Scholarship of Teaching & Learning (SoTL)

Faculty Liaison Coordinator, SoTL

Cora McCloy
416-978-8836
cora.mccloy@utoronto.ca

Faculty Liaison, Teaching and Learning

Kyle Turner
416-946-3799
kyle.turner@utoronto.ca

Programming, Communications and Special Projects Team

Faculty Liaison Coordinator, Anti-Racist Pedagogies

Coordinator, Programs & Strategic Initiatives

Kelly Gordon
416-946-0316
kelly.gordon@utoronto.ca

Multimedia & Module Production Specialist

Elias Barboza Polcheira
416-978-1083
elias.polcheira@utoronto.ca

Assistant to the Directors & Special Projects Officer

Natasha Ng
416-946-0464
natasha.ng@utoronto.ca

Communications & Project Manager

Kathleen Olmstead
k.olmstead@utoronto.ca

Teaching Assistants' Training Program (TATP)

Assistant Director, CTSI/TATP

Michal Kasprzak
416-978-1510
michal.kasprzak@utoronto.ca

Faculty Liaison Coordinator, Graduate Student Development & TA Training

Ellyse Winter
416-946-4019
ellyse.winter@mail.utoronto.ca

Cristina D’Amico (on leave)
cristina.damico@utoronto.ca

Programs Coordinator, TATP

Alli Diskin
416-978-2242
alli.diskin@utoronto.ca

Teaching, Learning & Technology

Part of Academic, Research & Collaborative (ARC) technologies group

Faculty Liaison Coordinator, Teaching, Learning and Technology

Justin Fletcher
416-978-5752
justin.fletcher@utoronto.ca

Faculty Liaisons, Teaching, Learning & Technology

Sun Ooi
416-978-8162
sun.ooi@utoronto.ca

Derek Hunt
416-978-1389
derek.hunt@utoronto.ca

Faculty Liaisons, Technology

Marko Piljevic
416-946-3476
marko.piljevic@utoronto.ca

Shayne Train
shayne.train@utoronto.ca

Maryam Shafiei
416-946-3558
maryam.shafiei@utoronto.ca

CTSI Teaching Feedback Services​

The Centre for Teaching Support & Innovation (CTSI) offers services that provide instructors with formative feedback on different aspects of their teaching.

CTSI’s Deputy Directors

CTSI is delighted to announce that Andrea Williams and Keith Adamson have joined our team as Deputy Directors. These new positions will better enable CTSI to support the diverse needs of the University of Toronto, provide guidance as we continue our work in creating accessible and inclusive learning environments for our community, and contribute to the University’s commitment to creating transformative educational experiences for our students.

The new Deputy Directors bring years of experience as award-winning instructors and educational leaders in their disciplines. Andrea Williams (Associate Professor, Teaching Stream, and Director of the Writing & Rhetoric and Innis One, Innis College) has created faculty networks in both writing instruction and assessment design, including the LEAF-funded project Writing Across Disciplines (a peer-reviewed assignment database) and leading the training of graduate student instructors through the Writing-Integrated Teaching (WIT) program. Keith Adamson (Assistant Professor, Teaching Stream, Factor-Inwentash Faculty of Social Work) has a particular interest in experiential learning and developing connections and collaborations that encourage compassionate care and empathy through learning outside the traditional classroom. His experience in the healthcare sector prior to coming to U of T, and his work and research since joining the Faculty, provide a much needed perspective that will enrich CTSI’s services and programming.   

Working closely with Director Alison Gibbs, the Deputy Directors will support the continued implementation of CTSI’s strategic priorities and further enrich CTSI’s role as a leader in educational and faculty development. These three-year terms are 20% secondments and run until June 30, 2025. 

Keith Adamson, Assistant Professor, Teaching Stream, Factor-Inwentash Faculty of Social Work
Keith joined the Factor-Inwentash Faculty of Social Work in August 2017. He has more than 20 years of progressive senior management experience in clinical, management and professional practice leadership roles, in healthcare settings.   Keith pursues research that seeks to explore innovative pedagogical approaches to interprofessional education and practice, research that explores new roles for social work within a changing healthcare system, as well as research that explores how compassionate care and empathy can be enhanced in social work education through collaboration with service users, clients and their families. Keith is a 2022 recipient of the Early Career Teaching Award.

Andrea Williams, Associate Professor, Teaching Stream, and Director of the Writing & Rhetoric and Innis One, Innis College
Andrea has taught undergraduate courses in academic writing, the history and theory of rhetoric, and business and technical communication as well as a graduate course in management communication. Since July 2021 she has been Director of the Writing & Rhetoric and Innis One at Innis College where she teaches courses on academic writing and writing about nature and the environment.  Andrea was awarded the Faculty of Arts & Science Outstanding Teaching Award in 2020, the Arts & Science student service award in 2012, and the Northrop Frye Award in 2014 (on behalf of WIT). Andrea was President of the Canadian Association for the Study of Discourse and Writing from 2018 to 2020 and Conference Chair from 2016 to 2018. She launched Multidisciplinary Faculty Writing Circles in the Faculty of Arts and Science and coordinates the Innis College series, Writers on Writing.  Andrea is the author of the book Cross-border Networks in Writing Studies and has published on writing pedagogy across disciplines. She is the creator of the LEAF-funded project, Assignments Across Disciplines, a peer-reviewed assignment database that makes exemplary assignments accessible to instructors to improve teaching and learning. 

Back to Top